Raffles Translation - Offers translation services in Singapore and worldwide

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


质量控制

在莱佛士翻译社,我们致力于为客户提供最高水平的服务质量,以达到并超越他们的期待水平。为达到这一目的,我们主要专注于两个方面:适当的员工和适当的系统。


适当的员工
为聘用高度熟练的语言专家,我们需要对翻译员进行测试,然后根据测试结果、推荐信、其所拥有的相关专业知识以及会员资格等因素进行录用。翻译工作只交给说本族语并同时拥有相关专业经历的翻译员完成。一项工作完成之后,我们将对每个翻译员的表现进行重新评估,然后才决定是否分派新工作给他们.

适当的系统
在莱佛士翻译社,我们自2002年以来一直实施“全面质量管理系统”,其特点是从报价到最后交付,对一个项目进行不间断的审查,确保我们所完成和交付的每一个项目,都达到最高的品质标准,令顾客完全满意。

适当的员工,加上适当的系统,是实现高质量翻译要求的双重保证。但达到这一要求,还有赖于对质量控制程序的有效实施。

质量控制程序

以下所列便是本公司行之有效的质量控制程序:

1.

分析项目情况
我们拿到一个项目后,便分派一名项目经理专门负责。他将会同质保经理对该项目的内容、风格、词汇、媒介、格式等进行初步分析,以确定其所涉及的专业领域,并确立完成该项目的指导方针。

2.

组建项目团队
一旦确定了项目的性质,项目经理将确定最合格、最适当的人员组建项目团队,其中包括项目经理本人、翻译员(一人或数人)、编辑员/校对员(一人或数人)、排版员、IT专家及质保经理等。

3.

创建专有词汇表
为特定项目创建词汇表,是保证其质量的先决条件。因此,我们为提供增值服务开发了管理技术词汇的有效资源。这主要包括 (1)从原文档提取相关技术词汇及常出现的词语,建成一词汇表,所采用的方法有 (a) 采用技术词典提供的某行业或领域的标准翻译;(b) 采用谷哥搜索法,在谷哥上搜索最新的专门技术词汇;(c) 累积开发莱佛士翻译社自己的词语数据库,并按客户、产品、行业或专业领域等提取使用;(2) 采用电脑辅助工具如TRADOS、Wordfast或其他适当的工具,以确保所有翻译文件中使用的词汇都相同、一致。

词汇表由项目团队共同创建,并由项目经理最后定稿。

4.

开始翻译
创建词汇表之后,一名或多名具备所需学术背景的本族语专业翻译员,便根据项目经理确定的指导方针和词汇表,着手开始翻译工作。由于翻译员精通项目所在的领域,因此他们知道如何使用专业技术词汇,并拥有广泛的技术资源。他们的主要任务,是以其本族语生成内容准确、行文流畅、文字优美的译文,并进行反复检查,然后提交编辑和校对。在翻译进行过程中,项目经理和翻译员之间始终保持沟通,遇到交货紧急的大项目,项目经理还须协调所有翻译员的工作,随时告知翻译中出现的任何问题,以便统揽全局。

5.

编辑
该步骤主要涉及本土化和译文的润色。届时,编辑员将与翻译员合作从文化、习俗及习惯用法上对翻译稿进行修饰,以使目标语言符合当地惯例和习惯。在不影响准确性的前提下,逐字翻译将被意译、乃至撰写所取代,以去除翻译痕迹,使译文读起来就好像不是译自原语言,而是直接用目标语言写成的一样。

编辑之后,译文将返回给原译员检查。原译员可对编辑内容提出异议。所有异议将都由编辑员和原译员通过协商解决,然后提交给校对员进行审查。

编辑员对每一文本错误,都使用“跟踪修改”工具进行跟踪,以便于原译员进行检查。

6.

校对
对于质量控制而言,校对常视为一个关键步骤。因此,我们通常会安排两个校对员彻底检查编辑好的译文。一校员,即原语言说本族语者,主要专注于词汇及其含义、拼法、习惯用语、文化含义等;二校员,目标语言说本族语者,则主要专注于整个译文词汇与结构的流畅性、连贯性、适当性及完整性。一言以蔽之,一校的主要作用,是确保目标语言准确地反映原语言的意思,二校的主要作用,则是确保所有用法及文字风格符合习惯,正确一致。

只有在一校的所有要求都满足之后,才能将译文交给二校检查,否则,译文将返回给编辑员加以改善;二校的情况也是如此,即译文只有在令二校完全满意之后,方送交排版。

如同编辑步骤一样,校对员对每一文本错误,都使用“跟踪修改”工具进行跟踪,以便于编辑员进行检查。

7.

桌面排版(排字)
桌面排版(DTP),又称排字。完成校对之后,我们的排版员将使用FrameMaker、Illustrator、Freehand、PageMaker、InDesign等排版软件处理译稿中的列表和图形,并检查处理结果。

如果一个项目涉及排版工作,那么在上述编辑/校对之后,我们在完工前还将对文稿作进一步检查。

8.

质保审查
质保经理将随机抽取已排版文档的10-20%进行检查,确定文字是否书写专业,图表插入是否正确。
如在单一文件中发现两个和两个以上的错误,需对整个文档进行100%的审查,在此情况下,该文档将返回校对员重新检查。
质保经理可根据具体情况,或亲自修改文档,或将其退回给校对员检查和修改。

9.

征求客户意见
译稿经质保经理确认之后,定稿前将发给客户征求意见或修改(如有)。

10.

定稿与交付
译稿将由质保经理根据客户的具体意见或修改最后定稿,并按照客户选择,以软考贝或硬考贝的方式交付给客户。

11.

售后服务
一个项目交付之后,我们将在本公司“长期忠诚顾客计划”下,以折扣价格对某一翻译文件进行更新。除此之下,我们也将为每一个客户建立专门词汇库,以便为翻译未来项目做好准备。

12.

客户反馈质量调查
为了不断改进我们的工作,无论是一次性工作,还是持续性项目,我们都会在交付工作之后,将本公司标准的《客户反馈表》发给所有客户,请他们对我们的服务给予反馈,并欢迎他们提出坦率的意见和建议。这无疑有助于我们了解自己的水平和实力,以及我们如何达到和超过客户的期待,以建立长期伙伴关系。

quality control process

< 回到顶部 >

Raffles Translation - Offers translation services in Singapore and worldwide

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


Quality Control

At Raffles Translation, we are committed to providing the highest quality to our clients to exceed their expectations by focusing on two aspects, namely, the right people and the right system.


The Right People
We test and recruit only skilled language experts based on accreditation in recognized professional associations, referrals, testing results and their respective industry-specific experience. Jobs are assigned only to those that work only in native language and based only on their past professional experience in the subject. Upon completion of a project, every translator will be reassessed for his/her performance before a new assignment is given to them.

The Right System
At Raffles Translation, we have developed in 2006 and since then have been implementing a Total Quality Management System that features constant ongoing reviews from quotation of a project through to its final delivery and make sure that every project completed and delivered will meet the top quality standard to the full satisfaction of a client.

The combination of the right people and the right system is a double guarantee of a high quality translation. This relies, however, on the effective implementation of a quality control process.

Quality Control Process
Our proven quality control process is shown as follows:

1.

Analyzing a Project
Upon receiving a project, a Project Manager will be assigned to take charge of it. He will, in conjunction with the QA Manager, conduct a preliminary analysis of the project in terms of content, style, terminology, media, formatting, etc. in order to ascertain the area of discipline involved and lay down guidelines for doing the project.

2.

Setting up a Project Team
Once the nature of a project is defined, the Project Manager will identify the most qualified and appropriate personnel to form a project team that consists of the Project Manager himself, a translator (or more translators if a large project is involved), an editor/proofreader (or more editors/proofreaders if a large project is involved), a DTP specialist, an IT specialist and a QA Manager.

3.

Creating a Glossary
Creating a glossary for a specific project is a prerequisite or guarantee of its translation quality. We have therefore developed effective resources to control the technical terms for providing value-added service. This mainly includes (1) extracting technical terms and the terms of frequent occurrence from original files and creating a glossary by a) using standard translations available for certain industry or area from technical dictionaries; b) searching for latest technical terminologies on Google, “googling”; c) developing and accumulating China-Link’s own database of terms and glossaries that can be extracted by customer, product, industry or area, etc. (2) using CAT tools such as TRADOS, Wordfast or other appropriate tools so that the same and consistent terms can be used for all the documents.

The glossary is to be created by members of the project team and finalized by the Project Manager.

4.

Translating
Following the creation of a glossary, one or more native professional translators of the target language with the required academic background will be chosen to perform the translation in accordance with the guidelines and glossary determined by the Project Manager. Specialized in the area of the project, translators have an extensive library of resources concerning the relevant use of the specialized terminology. Their key task is to produce an accurate, fluent and elegant translation in their own native language and to double-check the translation before handing it over for editing/proofreading.

During the course of translation, there is constant communication between the Project Manager and the translator; in case of a large and urgent project, the Project Manager is to take charge of the entire process by coordinating with and keeping all translators abreast of any issues arising from the translation.

5.

Editing
This step involves localization and polishing of the translated text, when the editor(s) work with translator(s) to modify the translation in the context of culture, custom and habitual usage to bring the target language into line with the local practice. Without sacrificing accuracy, word for word translation is to be replaced by free translation or even copywriting in order to eliminate any trace of translation and make the translation read as if it were originally drafted in the target language rather than being translated from the source language.

After being edited, the translation will be returned to the original translator for review. The original translator may choose to challenge or object to an edit. All objections will be resolved between the editor and the original translator through consultation before the translation is forwarded to proofreaders for review.

Each text error or change is traced by using “track changes” tool in a file in order for the original translator to review.

6.

Proofreading
Proofreading is mostly considered a key step for quality control. We therefore normally arrange for two proofreaders to review the well edited translation thoroughly, with the first proofreader, a source language native speaker, concentrating on array of glossaries and meanings, spellings, habitual usages, cultural implications, etc. while the second proofreader, a target language native speaker, will focus on fluency, consistency, appropriateness and completeness of glossaries and structures of the text as a whole. In a nutshell, the primary role of the first proofreader is to ensure that the target language accurately reflects the meaning of the source language, while that of the second proofreader is to ensure that all usages and style of writing are habitually correct and consistent.

Only when all the requirements are satisfied for the first proofreader can the translation be handed over to the second proofreader for review, otherwise, it will be returned to the editor for improving. The same applies for the second proofreader, that is, the translation will not be handed over for typesetting until it is fully satisfactory to the second proofreader.

Like editing, each text error or change is traced using the “track changes” tool in a file in order for the editor to review.

7.

Typesetting (DTP)
Typesetting is also referred to as Desk Top Publishing (DTP). After proofreading is finished, our DTP specialist will process tables and graphics in the text by using FrameMaker, Illustrator, PageMaker, InDesign or other DTP software and check the result.

When DTP is involved for a project, following the editing/proofreading as mentioned above, a further check-up will be conducted before the artwork is signed off.

8.

QA Reviewing
QA Manager will extract 10-20% of the DTP file to check that texts are professionally written and tables and graphics are embedded correctly.
If two or more than two errors are found in a single file, a 100% inspection will have to be conducted on the whole file, in which event, the file will be returned to the proofreader for double check.
The QA Manager may, as the case may be, either amend the file by himself or return it to proofreaders for review and amendment.

9.

Seeking client’s comments
After translation is confirmed by the QA Manager, the end result will be sent to the client for comment or amendment (if any) before it is finalized. If there is no objection or comment from the client, the job will be deemed as accepted by the client.

10.

Finalizing and Delivery
The translation will be finalized by QA Manager based on the specific comment or amendment of the client and finally delivered to the client either in a softcopy or hardcopy at the client’s option.

11.

After-sales Service
After delivery of a project, we continue to serve the client on future updates of a translated document at a concession rate under our Long-term Loyalty Customer Program. In addition, a library of terminologies will also be set up for each client in relation to its future projects.

12.

Quality Survey for Client’s Feedback
No matter whether it is a one-off task or an ongoing project, we would, following the delivery of a job, send our standard Customer Feedback Form to all our clients for their feedback on our service and welcome their candid comments and suggestions in order to further improve ourselves. This has helped us know where we are and how we can further meet and exceed their expectations for a long-term partnership.

quality control process

< Back to top >