Raffles Translation - Offers translation services in Singapore and worldwide

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

常见问题

问1. 我们为何要选择莱佛士翻译社?与其他公司相比,贵公司的长处是什么?
问2. 据我所知,莱佛士翻译社的价格在新加坡是最低的。既然你们的价格那么低,质量可靠吗?贵公司是怎样保证质量的?
问3. 我们的文件是高度机密的。我们怎样能确信它们将不会被泄露给第三方?
问4. 如果成为贵公司的长期忠诚客户,对我们有哪些好处?
问5. 贵公司能否提供用于提交给本地政府机构或法院的“认证翻译”?
问6. 贵公司是否为所翻译的文件提供公证服务?
问7. 一件翻译工作的正常交货时间是多久?贵公司能否在尽可能短的时间内交付量大且难度高的项目?
问8. 贵公司是按字还是按页收费?你们是怎样计算字数的?
问9. 贵公司的翻译作业是在新加坡进行吗?
问10. 如果我们要对翻译进行修改,贵公司是否还收费?
问11. 贵公司是否使用电脑软件进行翻译?
问1. 我们为何要选择莱佛士翻译社?与其他公司相比,贵公司的优势是什么?

答1.

问得好!莱佛士翻译社,恰如其名所示,是一家以翻译本地语言,即马来语、淡米尔语、华语及英语为主,其他亚洲及欧洲语言为辅的新加坡本土翻译公司。英语是新加坡的开创者托马斯•斯坦福•莱佛士爵士的本族语言。您可能不确信莱佛士翻译是不是您的正确选择,但是,假如您知道我们的优势所作,您就不会怀疑自己所作的决定:

在您索取三个报价进行比较的同时,您不妨考虑以下我们的各项优势:

1. 我们提供准确而流畅的多种语言翻译及本土化服务;
2. 我们擅长技术、财务、法律及生活科学翻译;
3. 我们提供专业的同声传译和交替传译服务;
4. 我们能够在尽可能短的交货时间内交付大型项目;
5. 我们严格执行内部质量控制程序;
6. 我们提供新加坡最具竞争力的大众化价格。

回到顶部 >
问2. 据我所知,莱佛士翻译社的价格在新加坡是最低的。既然你们的价格那么低,质量可靠吗?贵公司是怎样保证质量的?

答2.

对,质量对每一行业都是一个永恒的议题。没有质量,任何生意都不能长久,对于翻译来说,亦是如此。在莱佛士翻译社,我们通过一方面只雇用懂专业的语言人才,另一方面执行严格的质量控制程序,致力于为客户提供最佳品质的服务;不仅如此,我们还通过结合互联网(谷哥搜索)、硬件设施、专业翻译软件、项目管理软件、大规模词汇量及材料数据库和翻译记忆系统以及与客户的联络系统等,建立起一个综合性的翻译资讯系统,借以保证我们翻译服务的质量。

我们的目标,是最大限度地实现令顾客完全满意的“专业素质与准确性的完美结合。”

至于我们在新加坡以最低价格如何生存,您可能听说过“薄利多销”这个词。这正是我们何以拥有如此广大的忠诚客户群的原因。如果我们的品质不可靠,拥有这么多的客户简直是不可能的。

< 回到顶部 >
问3. 我们的文件是高度机密的。我们怎样能确信它们将不会被泄露给第三方?

答3.

在莱佛士翻译社,我们始终把保密性放在一切工作的首位。多年以来,我们一直承诺为客户的所有资料保守秘密,即使在不签订《保密协议》(NAD)的情况下也是如此,这为我们赢得IBM、Roche Singapore、西门子新加坡、Aon Consulting、ST Electronics、MPRI、Eli-Lilly、新航、INC Research、Nettlton Global、和顿国际集团等世界著名公司的信任,更不用说新加坡政府总理公署,其文件属高度机密性质。

为确保客户提供给我们的所有信息都获得秘密,我们同旗下所有翻译员、编辑、校对员及需要知道这些信息的任何人签订一《保密协议》;不仅如此,所有文件在翻译或处理之前都经过加密处理,只有知道密码才能打开这些文件。这样,只有有关人员才有权获取相关信息。高度机密的文件,仅由本公司内部语言人才及专家负责处理,因此,请您尽管放心地将您的贵重资料交与我们。即使我们把某个工作交给我们位于中国的员工,有关文件也将根据双方签署的标准《保密协议》只限于他们自己知道,根本不可能泄露给任何第三方。

如果您认为我们的保证不足以让您放心,我们愿意将其变成书面文件。请点击下载我们的标准《保密协议》,填入贵公司名称、日期并签署一式两份,然后将两份文件扫描电邮给我们。我们将在收到文件后,立即签名并在电邮其中一份给您后,寄出原件。

回到顶部 >
问4. 如果成为贵公司的长期忠诚客户,对我们有哪些好处?

答4.

就创造一种双赢局面而言,一种长期的伙伴关系,将使双方受益匪浅。在我们的长期忠诚顾客计划下,我们为我们的长期宝贵客户提供以下好处:(1) 另给予5%的折扣;(2) 建立专门术语及资料信息库,提供定制解决方案;(3) 为这些顾客优先分派专业及技术人员,以便其翻译工作在质量和速度上都能获得保证。

回到顶部 >
问5. 贵公司能否提供用于提交给本地政府机构或法院的“认证翻译”?

答5.

绝对可以。我们在新加坡提供认证翻译已有八多年的历史。要提供一份经验证无误之翻译真本,我们需要证明翻译自源语言之英文的准确性,并在签字后加盖“认证翻译专用章”。之后,该翻译件即可为本地政府机构和法院所接受。

如果您除母语外还精通英语,您可以自己将这些语言翻译成英语,然后交给我们核验,以保证内容的准确性。在此情况下,我们将只收取您的核验认证费。

回到顶部 >
问6. 贵公司是否为所翻译的文件提供公证服务。

答6.

否。公证只能由公证人进行,后者一般是执业至少达12年的律师。如果您需要对认证翻译进行公证,我们可以安排我们的翻译员在公证人面前宣誓他/她是本文件的翻译人,并据其所知他/她的翻译是准确无误的。之后,公证人将在翻译原件上加盖其公证印章。

回到顶部 >
问7. 一件翻译工作的正常交货时间是多久?贵公司能否在尽可能短的时间内交付量大且难度高的项目?

答7.

交付一个项目的正常周转时间,介于三个工作日(不超过10页、大约5000字的文件)和五个工作日(不超过30页、约14,000字的文件)。我们提供24小时交货服务,在常价基础加价30-50%。承接大宗、难度高和紧急的翻译项目,并在尽可能最短的时间内予以完成,确实非常具有挑战性。但由于拥有一支经验丰富、保证迅速高效交付的专业翻译员团队,我们能够承接并完成这样的项目。

回到顶部 >
问8. 贵公司是按字还是按页收费?你们是怎样计算字数的?

答8.

我们一般是按字收费,除非需要翻译的文字非常少。字数的计算是采用微软Word提供的字数。如您有需翻译文件的软考贝,您可以自己直接算出字数;如您没有软考贝,那么翻译字数只能估算或手动计算,其最简单的方法是:行数 x 每行字数 x 页数 =需翻译的字数。您页可以将文件电邮给我们免费估算字数。

如果我们的客户喜欢按页计价,我们也欣然接受。

回到顶部 >
问9. 贵公司的翻译作业是在新加坡进行吗?

答9.

是的。在新加坡,我们拥有相当数量的各种语言的合格翻译员,其对语言的精通程度和专业知识,基本能满足我们客户的需要。因此,我们无需我们的大多少竟争者那样,将项目分包给外部自由翻译人或海外供应商。只是在需要为客户提供量身定制的服务、而本地又无法获得该服务的情况下,我们才寻求外部翻译员的帮助。但是,即使我们把项目拿出去交给其他国家的翻译员做,我们也从不放松对品质的控制或有一丝一毫的妥协。在将一个工作交付给客户之前,我们的新加坡总部始终负责对项目进行最后的质量把关。所以,即使一件工作是在国外处理的,其质量也毫无瑕疵,这一点您可以尽管放心。

回到顶部 >
问10. 如果我们要对翻译进行修改,贵公司是否还另外收费?

答10.

否。虽然我们竭尽全力确保我们的翻译准确无误,让您完全满意,最后翻译文本交付之后,您可随便修改。这不仅说明我们对自己的产品充满信心,而且也代表了我们对提供卓越服务所作的承诺。即便如此,由于我们实施严格的质量控制程序,客户要求进行修改的情况十分少见。即使有,通常也只是无关紧要的修改。我们很少遇到一项工作被客户修改两次以上的情况。


回到顶部 >
问11. 贵公司是否使用电脑软件进行翻译?

答11.

否。我们从不使用软件进行翻译。机器翻译错误百出,远远无法达到正常阅读所要求的水平,因为软件,无论其有多么先进,都永远无法胜过我们的专业翻译员所拥有的知识范围和丰富经验。此外,由于机器翻译需要进行大量的编辑和校对工作,所以如果考虑到内容的统一和连惯,它常常需要比人力翻译更多的时间。有鉴于此,我们只用人做翻译,虽然我们的翻译工作有时需要辅之以记忆工具,如Trados、Wordfast等,以保证用词的统一。


回到顶部 >

Raffles Translation - Offers translation services in Singapore and worldwide

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

FAQs

Q1. Why should we choose Raffles Translation? What are your strengths as compared to other companies?
Q2. As far as I know, Raffles Translation offers the most competitive prices in Singapore. Since your price is quite low, is your quality dependable? How do you ensure the quality?
Q3. Our document is highly confidential. How can we be sure that you will not disclose it to a third party?
Q4. What are the benefits to us if we become your long-term loyal customer?
Q5. Are you able to produce a certified true translation for submission to local government agencies or court?
Q6. Do you provide notarization for translation done by your company?
Q7. What is your normal turnaround time for delivering a job? Can you deliver large and difficult projects within the shortest possible turnaround time?
Q8. Do you charge by word or by page? How do you calculate the number of words?
Q9. Is your translation done in Singapore?
Q10. Do you charge again if we wish to make amendments to the translation?
Q11. Do you use computer software to perform translations?
Q1. Why should we choose Raffles Translation? What are your strengths as compared to other companies?

A1.

That’s a good question! Raffles Translation, as the name suggests, is a local company in Singapore focusing on translation and interpreting of local languages, namely, Malay, Tamil and Chinese, as well as English, the native language of Thomas Stamford Raffles, founder of Singapore, and other European languages.

You may not be made convinced that your choice of Raffles Translation is a correct one. However, you will not doubt your decision if you know our strengths as follows:

While trying to get three quotes to compare, you may wish to make a decision by weighing our strengths as follows:

1. We provide accurate and smooth multilanguage translations and localizations;
2. We focus on technical, financial, legal and life science translations;
3. We provide professional simultaneous and consecutive interpreting service;
4. We are able to deliver large projects within the shortest possible turnaround time;
5. We implementing intense in-house quality control process;
6. We offer the most competitive and affordable rates in Singapore.

< Back to Top >
Q2. As far as I know, Raffles Translation offers the most competitive prices in Singapore. Since your price is so low, is your quality dependable? How do you ensure quality?

A2.

Right, quality is a perpetual issue for every line of business. No business can survive without quality, and the same is true for translation. At Raffles Translation, we are committed to delivering the best quality service to our clients by hiring only subject-specific linguists on the one hand and implementing a strict quality control process on the other. Furthermore, we have set up an integrated translation information system from a combination of the Internet (Googling), hardware facilities, specialist translation software, project management software, a massive vocabulary and materials database, and translation memory system as well as communication system with our clients, thus guaranteeing the quality of our translation services.

Our objective is to achieve maximum “professionalism, accuracy and perfection” to the full satisfaction of our clients.

As to how we survive with the lowest price in Singapore, you might have heard of the saying, “small profits and good sales”. That’s why we have such a large and loyal customer base. This would be simply impossible if our quality was not dependable!

< Back to Top >
Q3. Our document is highly confidential. How can we be sure that you will not disclose it to a third party?

A3.

At Raffles Translation, we always give the highest priority to confidentiality. Over the years, our commitment to keeping confidential all the data of our clients, even without entering into a Non-disclosure Agreement (NDA) with them, has earned us the trust of some of the best-known companies in the world, such as, IBM, Roche Singapore, Siemens Singapore, Aon Consulting, ST Electronics, MPRI, Eli-Lilly, SIA, INC Research, Nettlton Global, Walton International Group, etc. not to speak of Singapore’s Prime Minister’s Office, whose documents are of course highly confidential.

In order to make sure all the information received from the client is kept confidential, we have a Non-disclosure Agreement (NDA) signed with all our translators, editors, proofreaders and anybody who needs to have access to our data. Furthermore, all documents are encoded before being translated or processed by our staff, whom are given a password for accessing the files. In this way, only the people concerned have access to the relevant information. Highly confidential documents are handled only by our in-house linguists and experts, so please feel safe entrusting us with your precious data. Even when we assign a project to our China-based employees, the related files are kept only to themselves under the standard NDA we signed with them, and there is no way for the information to be released to a third party.

If you feel that our word is not enough on its own, we are willing to commit it to paper. Simply click to Download our standard NDA, fill in your company name, date and sign it in duplicate, and then scan and send both copies to us. We will, upon receipt, immediately sign them and return one copy to you by email followed by the original by mail.

< Back to Top >
Q4. What are the benefits to us if we become your long-term loyal customer?

A4.

A long-term partnership is beneficial to both parties in a sense that it creates a win-win situation. Under our long-term loyal customer program, we offer our long-term valued customers the following benefits: (1) A further discount of 5%; (2) Development of a customized solution by establishing a terminology and information database; (3) Giving priority to these customers by assigning dedicated linguists and technical staff to them so that the quality and speed of translation can always be assured.

< Back to Top >
Q5. Are you able to produce a certified true translation for submission to local government agencies or the courts?

A5.

Yes, absolutely. We have been performing certified translation for more than ten years in Singapore. To produce a certified true copy of a translation, we need to attest to the accuracy of the English translated from the source language, and sign and affix our official “Seal for Special Use of Certified Translation”. Such translations will then be accepted by local government bodies and the courts.

If you are proficient in both English and your mother tongue, you can perform the translation by yourself and let us vouch for the content, in which case we will only charge you for verification and certification.

Our objective is to achieve maximum “professionalism, accuracy and perfection” to the full satisfaction of our clients.

As to how we survive with the lowest price in Singapore, you might have heard of the saying, “small profits and good sales”. That’s why we have such a large and loyal customer base. This would be simply impossible if our quality was not dependable!

< Back to Top >
Q6. Do you provide notarization for translation done by your company?

A6.

No. Notarizations can only be done by a notary public, who is generally a lawyer or attorney-at-law that has practiced law for at least twelve (12) years. If you require a certified translation be notarized, we can arrange for our translator/proofreader to take an oath before the notary public that he/she is the person who did the translation accurately to the best of his/her knowledge. The notary public will thereupon affix his seal on the original copy of the translation.

< Back to Top >
Q7. What is your normal turnaround time for delivering a job? Can you deliver large and difficult projects within the shortest possible turnaround time?

A7.

Our normal turnaround time for delivering a project is 3 working days for a document of up to 10 pages (approximately 5000 words) and 5 working days for a document of up to 30 pages (about 14,000 words). We provide 24 hours service for a 30-50% markup of the usual price. Taking a large, difficult and urgent translation project and finishing it within the shortest possible period of time can be very challenging. But we are able to undertake it thanks to the availability of our experienced, professional translators who provide prompt and efficient delivery.

< Back to Top >
Q8. Do you charge by word or by page? How do you calculate the number of words?

A8.

We normally charge by word, except where the text to be translated is very short. Calculation of the number of words is based on Word Count, one of the functions of Microsoft Word (Click “Tools”, and then “Word Count”). If you have a soft copy of the document to be translated, you can get the result directly by yourself; if you don’t have a soft copy, then the number of words to be translated can only be estimated or counted manually, for which the simplest method is: number of lines x number of words in each line x number of pages = number of words to be translated. You can also send your document to us via email for a free estimate of the word count.

We can also go by page should our clients prefer we quote that way.

< Back to Top >
Q9. Is your translation done in Singapore?

A9.

Yes. We have quite a number of translators qualified in various languages based in Singapore. Their language proficiency and industry knowledge is generally sufficient to cover the needs of our clients. Therefore, we don’t have to subcontract our projects to external freelancers or to overseas vendors, as most of our competitors do. Only when there is a need to provide a custom-tailored service to our clients that cannot be sourced locally do we seek the help of the external translators in our database. However, even when we farm out projects to translators in other countries, we never lose control or compromise on quality. Our Singapore office is always responsible for the final quality control process before a job is delivered to our clients. So, even if a job is processed overseas, you may rest assured that its quality is impeccable.

< Back to Top >
Q10. Do you charge again if we wish to make amendments to the translation?

A10.

No. While we make every effort to make sure the translation is correct and accurate to your full satisfaction, the end-product is open to free amendments after delivery. This shows not only our confidence in what we deliver, but also our commitment to you in delivering excellence. Having said that, there is rarely any request for amendments being made from our customers, thanks to our stringent quality control process. Even when there is, it is usually just for minor amendments. We seldom come across a case where a job is amended by our customer more than twice.

< Back to Top >
Q11. Do you use computer software to perform translations?

A11.

No, never. Machine translations are erroneous and far from being able to reach the level required for normal reading, because the software, no matter how advanced it is, can never outperform the dynamic range of knowledge and experience possessed by our professional translators. Also, as machine translation requires a considerable amount of editing and proofreading work, it often takes longer than human translation when standardization and consistency of the content is taken into account. Therefore, we only use human beings to do translation, although our work is sometimes supplemented by Memory Tools such as Trados and Wordfast to ensure consistency of terminologies.

< Back to Top >